What does an ENT doctor do?


Scope of activities

Otorhinolaryngology, usually abbreviated as ENT, is the medical specialty that deals with the research and treatment of disorders of the ears, nose and throat. Otorhinolaryngology is also concerned with disorders in the neck region such as swelling in the neck, the salivary glands, and  esophageal abnormalities. Typical treatments in the field of otorhinolaryngology include removal of the adenoids and tonsils and placement of ear tubes. There is also a close collaboration with speech therapists and audiologists. In the Netherlands, this discipline is usually referred to as KNO-surgery, in Flanders as NKO-surgery and in France as ORL-surgery. In reality, the ENT doctor could be better described as a surgeon for ears, nose, throat and other head-neck disorders because these medical specialists also perform significant surgeries in these areas of the body.  The ENT doctor also has experience in  facial plastic surgery, both reconstructive and cosmetic.

Broadly speaking, the ENT doctor spends 75% of work on consultation and 25% performing interventions, such as surgery and outpatient treatment.

Throat

In addition to the better known operations such as removal of adenoids and tonsils or resolving a a too-short lingual frenulum, the ENT doctor also performs less well-known interventions. Surgery of the soft palate to reduce snoring and  treatment of swellings in the mouth and salivary glands are examples. Hoarseness, usually caused by abnormalities in the vocal cords, will be treated surgically in a number of cases. Often, however, voice recommendations or speech therapy may be appropriate. The detection and treatment of malignancies in the oral and throat cavities also belong to the ENT doctor's purview. In the early stages, these conditions are often well treated with radiation and sometimes with medication. In more advanced stages, surgery may be necessary. The ENT doctor will perform this operation, sometimes in collaboration with clinicians from other specialties.

Nose

In addition to the surgical treatment of nasal congestion complaints caused by septal deviations and turbinate swellings, ENT  physicians also perform sinus surgery. With modern techniques it is possible to treat the sinus cavities through the nostrils. In this way, abnormalities such as nasal polyps and sinus inflammations (a common cause of headache) can be eliminated. By far most the surgeries on the internal and external nose, including the nose tip, are performed by the ENT physician  because of the close relationship between the shape and the function of the nose. Many abnormalities of the nose shape are caused by internal abnormalities and are accompanied by disorders of function.

Another form of nasal functioning disorder is caused by allergy (hypersensitivity). The ENT doctor also investigates and treats the complaints caused by allergy of the upper respiratory tract.

Ears

Concerning the ears, the ENT physician not only performs corrections of the auricle but also treats disorders of the ear canal, the tympanic membrane and the middle ear. These abnormalities, which are often caused by inflammation, give rise to hearing impairment, tinnitus or equilibrium disorders, and surgery is performed using a  surgical microscope. Surgical treatment in the inner ear is also possible with a cochlear implant today. For age-related hearing loss, the ENT doctor can adjust a hearing aid.

Neck

Swelling in the upper part of the neck, benign or malignant, is often caused by mouth, throat, or nose disorders. The ENT doctor can recognize these disorders with his diagnostics relatively easily and quickly.  The physician  not only conducts this investigation, but also treats such tumors. The same applies to swallowing problems caused by abnormalities in the upper part of the esophagus.

Facial plastic surgery

The ENT doctor corrects both the shape and function of the nose. In addition, the ENT is involved in the surgical treatment of facial paralysis, cleft palate, and facial swelling.

The scientific society organizes national congresses and courses for the advanced training of ENT doctors.

Que fait un médecin ORL?


Le champ d'action

L'Oto-Rhino-Laryngologie, habituellement abrégée en ORL, est la spécialité médicale qui s'occupe de la recherche et du traitement des troubles de la gorge, du nez et des oreilles. L'Oto-Rhino-Laryngologie concerne également  la région cervicale, avec notamment le diagnostic et le traitement des gonflements cervicaux, des maladies des glandes salivaires et de l'œsophage. Les traitements typiques dans le domaine de l'Oto-Rhino-Laryngologie sont la résection des végétations et des amygdales et le placement des drains dans les oreilles.  De plus, il existe une collaboration  étroite avec les logopèdes et les audiologues. 
Aux Pays-Bas, cette discipline est généralement appelée KNO et en Flandre, NKO. De fait, le médecin ORL devrait sans doute mieux appelé « chirurgien de la gorge, du nez, des oreilles et des autres troubles cervico-faciaux. Cela indiquerait plus clairement que la plupart des opérations de cette région anatomique peuvent être également effectuées par ce spécialiste médical. Le médecin ORL a également de l'expérience dans la chirurgie plastique du visage, à la fois reconstructive et cosmétique.

De manière générale, le médecin ORL consacre 75% de son temps à la consultation et 25% aux interventions, en chirurgie élective ou en traitement ambulatoire.

La gorge

En plus des opérations les plus fréquentes comme l'enlèvement des amygdales, des végétations et la libération du filet de la langue,  le médecin ORL peut pratiquer également des interventions moins connues. L'opération du palais mou pour réduire le ronflement, le traitement des gonflements du cou et des glandes salivaires en sont des exemples. La raucité de voix, généralement causée par des anomalies des cordes vocales, sera traitée chirurgicalement dans un certain nombre de cas. Souvent, cependant, il peut suffire de recommander une meilleure hygiène vocale ou de prescrire de l’orthophonie. La détection et le traitement des malignités dans la cavité buccale et la gorge appartiennent également au domaine du médecin ORL. Dans les premiers stades, ces conditions peuvent être traitées par radiothérapie ou par traitement chimiothérapique. Pour les stades plus avancés, une intervention chirurgicale peut être nécessaire. Le médecin ORL effectuera cette opération, parfois en collaboration avec des médecins d'autres spécialités.

Le nez

A côté du traitement chirurgical des plaintes d’obstruction nasale par déviation de cloison ou par gonflement des cornets nasales,  les médecins ORL réalisent également de la chirurgie sinusienne. Avec les techniques modernes, il est possible de traiter les cavités sinusales au travers des narines. De cette façon, des anomalies telles que les polypes sinusiens et les inflammations des cavités sinusiennes (cause fréquente de maux de tête) peuvent être éliminées. La plupart des chirurgies esthétiques sur le nez interne et externe, y compris la pointe du nez, sont effectuées par les médecins ORL, de par la cohérence entre la forme et la fonction du nez. De nombreuses anomalies de la forme du nez sont causées par des anomalies de cloison et s'accompagnent de troubles de la fonction respiratoire du nez.

Une autre forme fréquente de trouble du fonctionnement nasal est l’allergie respiratoire (hypersensibilité du nez). Le médecin ORL étudie et traite les plaintes causées par l'allergie des voies respiratoires supérieures.

Les oreilles

Le médecin ORL est consulté non seulement pour des corrections de l'oreille externe, mais aussi pour des pathologies du conduit auditif,  du tympan et de l'oreille moyenne. Ces anomalies, qui sont souvent causés par une inflammation, provoquent une déficience auditive, des acouphènes (bourdonnements ou sifflements d’oreille) ou des troubles de l'équilibre.  Ces opérations sont réalisées à l'aide d'un microscope opératoire. Dans les cas de perte auditive sévères, un traitement chirurgical dans l'oreille interne est aujourd'hui rendu possible par la mise en place d’un implant cochléaire. Pour  la perte d'audition, le médecin ORL intervient aussi dans l’ajustement de l’aide auditive.

Le cou

Les gonflements cervicaux, ta    nt bénins que malins, sont souvent causés par des infections ou inflammations de la bouche, de la gorge ou du nez. Le médecin ORL peut reconnaître et identifier ces troubles assez facilement et rapidement grâce à ses techniques diagnostiques. Il peut également traiter de manière chirurgicale ces tumeurs. De même, pour les troubles de déglutition causés par des maladies affectant la partie supérieure de l'œsophage.

Chirurgie faciale plastique

Le médecin ORL effectue des opérations du nez à la fois pour en corriger la forme et la fonction. De plus, l'ORL est aussi  impliqué dans le traitement chirurgical de la paralysie faciale, de la fente palatine ou des tuméfactions faciales.

La société scientifique organise des congrès nationaux et des cours pour la formation continue des médecins ORL.