LAST UPDATE ANNUAL SYMPOSIUM RBS ORL-HNS 2020

Dear Colleague,

At the tele-meeting of the Board of Directors of B-ORL on 8 September, it was decided to cancel the in persona form of the Annual Congress that was scheduled for 20 and 21 November 2020 in the Flanders Meeting and Convention Center in Antwerp, in view of the current COVID measures and the major uncertainties surrounding organizing a normal physical conference during the coming autumn period.

Preparation of an alternative digital program is ongoing.

We deeply regret this as this is the most important Belgian ENT meeting of the year where colleagues can present their work and where they can meet before and after the lectures and expand their social network. An interesting program was ready and well-balanced, a program where younger colleagues could exchange ideas with experienced colleagues and foreign guest speakers.

Unfortunately, the COVID epidemic has prevented this, as was the case with the Spring Meeting this year and we assume that this will also be the case with the Spring Meeting of 2021.

The Board of Directors has already decided to ask Semico to refund the Registration Fees for the Spring Meeting of 2020.

It has also been decided that we, together with Prof. Marie-Paule Thill, the chairperson in 2021, will try to present a beautiful and instructive Annual Congress in the fall of 2021.

However, in order to be able to meet the wishes for further training and accreditation and to meet the recognition criteria for assistants, we will, in collaboration with Semico, develop an alternative digital program.

This symposium will take place on the same days as the Annual Congress, namely on Friday 20/11/2020 in the afternoon as well as on Saturday morning 21/11/2020, each time during three hours. We would like to emphasize the lectures that allow our younger colleagues to present their work, alternated with short keynote lectures by domestic and foreign experts. Accreditation for this activity will also be applied for at the RIZIV/INAMI.

The originally chosen theme for the planned autumn symposium was: “ENT practice in the digital age”. So here we are, although forced by Corona, with our “changing times”!

With collegial and best regards,

Thomas Somers

 

Date
16 September 2020

LAST UPDATE ANNUAL SYMPOSIUM RBS ORL-HNS 2020

Chèr(e)s collègues,                                                                                         

 Lors de la téléconférence du Conseil d’administration de B-ORL du 8 septembre dernier, il a été décidé d’annuler la forme présentielle de l’Annual Congress prévu les 20 et 21 novembre 2020 au Flanders Meeting and Convention Center à Anvers. Cela, en raison des mesures actuelles COVID-19 et des grandes incertitudes quant à l’organisation d’un congrès physique normal au cours de la prochaine période d’automne. 

La préparation d’un programme alternatif et digital est en cours.

Nous le regrettons d’autant plus qu’il s’agit de la plus importante réunion des ORL belges de l’année où les collègues peuvent présenter leur travail, où ils peuvent se rencontrer avant et après les conférences et donc élargir en même temps leur réseau social. Un programme fascinant et équilibré était prêt, un programme qui aurait permis aux jeunes collègues d’échanger leurs idées tant avec des collègues expérimentés qu’avec des orateurs étrangers. 

Hélas, l’épidémie de COVID nous empêche de maintenir cet évènement comme ce fut le cas pour le Spring Meeting de cette année. On doit s’attendre à ce qu’il en soit de même pour le Spring Meeting 2021.

 Le Conseil d’administration a de toute façon décidé de faire rembourser par Semico les frais d’inscription pour le Spring Meeting 2020, pour ceux d’entre vous qui s’étaient déjà acquittés de leur frais d’inscription.

Il a également été décidé que nous, Le Prof Marie-Paule Thill, présidente 2021, et moi-même, président 2020, allons travailler ensemble pour vous offrir un Annuel Congress intéressant et instructif en automne 2021.

 Cependant, afin de satisfaire aux exigences de formation et d’accréditation et afin de répondre aux critères d’agréement des assistants, un programme alternatif et digital sera préparé pour le mois de novembre en collaboration avec Semico. Ce symposium aurait lieu au même moment que le Annual Congress, initialement prévu, c’est-à-dire le vendredi 20/11/2020 après-midi et le samedi 21/11/2020 matin, chaque fois pour quelques 3 heures.

L’idée est de s’orienter vers nos jeunes collègues et leur donner la possibilité de présenter leur travail, tout en prévoyant quelques courtes communications d’experts nationaux et étrangers. L’accréditation pour cette activité sera demandée à l’INAMI.

Le thème choisi à l’origine pour cet Annual Congress était « ENT-practice in the digital age ». Avec ce titre, nous suivrons, bien que forcés par Corona, les tendances actuelles par ces temps qui changent.​

Avec mes meilleures salutations,

Thomas Somers

 

Date
16 septembre 2020